The dougong here was derived from the Heavenly King Hall in Lianshan Shuanglinsi 莲山双林寺, formerly known as Siong Lim temple, in Singapore. On its front is a carved figurine of Zhang Guolao 张国老, one of the famous Eight Immortals, characterised by his walking stick. His faithful donkey, however, is absent. Lianshan Shuanglinsi was founded by a Hokkein merchant and devout Buddhist, Low Kim Pong (Liu Jinbang in Mandarin 刘金榜) in 1898. He donated four hectares of land in present-day Toa Payoh to build a monastery and the temple, which became Singapore’s first Chan Buddhist temple. It was built in various stages between 1898 and 1908, and its design is a syncretic blend of three southern Chinese architectural styles: Zhangzhou, Quanzhou and Fuzhou. The temple boasts an illustrious history. In the years leading up to World War II, it was a training ground for pilots and technicians from the Japanese Resistance Movement in China; in the late 1940s and early 50s, it was the first martial arts school to teach in the famous Shaolin style in Singapore. In 1991, the temple underwent a decade of restoration and reconstruction to restore it to its former glory.